Thursday, January 19, 2006

Channel 4 Political Awards

The Channel 4 Political Awards take place on 1st February 2006. Before then Channel 4 are giving the general public the chance to have their say on one of the night's awards.

Before Christmas, Channel 4 invited nominations for the 'Channel 4 News Most Inspiring Political Figure Award'. The Political Awards Panel has whittled them down to a shortlist of six.


Tony Blair

David Cameron

Shami Chakrabarti

George Galloway

Bob Geldof

Jamie Oliver

Nominess for the other awards are:

Politician's Politician:

Hilary Benn, Gordon Brown, David Cameron, Michael Howard

Opposition Politician:

Ken Clarke, Dominic Grieve, Elfyn Llwyd, Mark Oaten

Campaigning Politician:

Chris Grayling, Kate Hoey, Anne McIntosh, Gordon Prentice

Rising Star:

Lynne Featherstone, Michael Gove, Sadiq Khan, Shahid Malik

Peer of the Year:

Baroness Anelay of St Johns, Baroness Ashton of Upholland, Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, Lord Lester of Herne Hill

Political Book Award:

This year's Political Book Award committee was Chaired by Rt Hon Michael Howard MP and consisted of Lord Hattersley, Gerald Kaufman, Amanda Platell, Anthony Howard and Channel 4's Political Editor Gary Gibbon.

Lance Price - Spin Doctor's Diary, Geoffrey Wheatcroft - Strange Death of Tory England, Leo McKinstry - Rosebery, Philip Cowley - The Rebels: How Blair Mislaid his Majority, Kavanagh and Butler - British General Election 2005, Chris Patten - Not Quite the Diplomat

Political Comedy Award:

This year’s Political Comedy Award is a contest between a perennial favourite and two newcomers. The political institution that is Private Eye is pitched against Armando Iannucci's satirical comedy The Thick of It plus The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

Opening-Up Politics:

The Hansard Society is presenting an award this year for Opening-Up Politics - for the publisher or programme which helped to engage a new political audience.

Cosmopolitian launched the groundbreaking High Heeled Vote campaign in an attempt to reverse voter apathy in young women ahead of the General Election.

Following the success of its US Election blog, Guardian Unlimited started its 2005 Election Blog – a truly innovative and interactive site.

The BBC's This Week, with Andrew Neil, Diane Abbott and Michael Portillo continued to produce thoughtful and sometime offbeat political journalism.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Cool blog, interesting information... Keep it UP » » »

6/2/07 14:15  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home